Tuesday, March 09, 2004

New Email Con floating around...

I received an email this morning which is looking very much like a new con because this same email has been sent to a few people I know:

From: Lisa LaFortune
Email: ontrackinc@aol.com

Email Message:


"My check card was billed on Saturday for 612.98. When I saw the billing on my bank account yesterday I thought it was a fraudulent charge. However, when I got up this morning and checked again there was a credit for 612.98 to counterbalance the charge, thus I got my money back. The information on the chargee was a company name of WP-Hosting-Torquay. What I need to know is how did you get my check card number to start with and why was my card erroneously charged. People make mistakes and there was a happy ending but if I don't find out the particulars I will launch an investigation through Bank of America. I will also launch an Internet campaign to let the world know what happened - if I don't get some answers. But, like I said, mistakes do happen and if you will get back to me and let me know what happened, I'll be happy. I just need to know who is being sloppy with my check card.
My name is Lisa LaFortune, my business name is OnTrack Professionals, Inc. I have never any done any business with this particular web site which makes me even more concerned".

If you received this email be warned!